(Easy As) Pumpkin Pie Latte

Everyday is a lesson day. Young or old, in or out of school, we can all learn something new each day. Today, for instance, I learned that:

  1. Milk will not froth on the stovetop if significant amounts of pumpkin puree and cinnamon are added to it. Even if you try very, very hard. Multiple times.
  2. Milk will froth on the stovetop if, in great frustration, you slosh it into a saucepan all by itself and watch very skeptically for signs of bubbling.
  3. There are actually some pros to the electoral college system. Random, I know. It’s all part of a recent goal of mine to read the news and educate myself on diverse topics. And I refuse to be embarrassed for making progress. Even though I probably had to learn this in elementary school (pshhh it’s been a long time since then).

But anyway, back to pumpkin.

Oh YES, ‘tis the season. Glorious, glorious fall: Sweaters, leaves changing colors, apple cider(!), and, in Dallas, 94 degree weather and people tanning by the pool. But hey, when did the weatherman ever dictate what I make? And, by the way, I am an annoying, peppy, absolute LOVER of fall and the holidays, so expect more seasonal gushing to come.

Since it is, technically, fall, I’ve had pumpkin on the mind for quite a while. However, I couldn’t quite think of what pastry or (gasp!) savory item food to tackle. Luckily for me, my sister loves food nearly as much as I do, and raved about a pumpkin latte she recently drank at Peet’s Coffee.

I made you two different kinds!…And then I drank both. Whoops.

She found this recipe online to try out. Upon hearing the word pumpkin, though, I immediately snatched the recipe away to experiment on for my blog. I know, I’m such a joy to live with.

As stated above, I originally tried to froth the pumpkin milk on the stove. My fancy ambitions were quickly quashed. However, I did learn that it is possible to successfully froth milk on the stove. I decided to combine coffee with my version of pumpkin milk, then top it all off with foamy goodness.

And then. I could not stop thinking about pumpkin pie. All that sweet pumpkin in a flaky pie crust, finished off with a swirl of whipped cream! Gahhhhh. My salivary glands went into overdrive, my imagination ran wild, and thus!

The ultimate pumpkin pie latte was born: Coffee mixed with pumpkin milk, topped with foam, then, pumpkin pie whipped cream, and finally – a sprinkling of graham cracker crumbs. Perhaps this is why I love fall?

Welcome to your afternoon.

Oh, who am I kidding? Welcome to my afternoon.

Pumpkin Pie Latte (Adapted from Pumpkin Spice Latte)

Yield: 2 servings (One for you & one for a friend! Or, let’s be real, two for you – no need to be ashamed)

Note: There will be a little pumpkin puree left at the bottom of your cup. Do not be alarmed. You can 1) Slurp it up, 2) Use it for your next pumpkin latte, or 3) Mix it into a milkshake. No problemo.

Coffee and Pumpkin Milk

Ingredients

  1. 2 cups strong coffee
  2. 1/2 cup milk (whichever kind you prefer)
  3. 1/3 cup pumpkin puree
  4. 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  5. 2 tablespoons honey

Instructions

  1. Brew coffee and set aside.
  2. In microwave-safe container, whisk together remaining ingredients and microwave for 1 minute.
  3. Mix milk with coffee and top with milk foam or pumpkin whipped cream (or both)!

Milk Foam

Ingredients

  1. 1/2 cup milk

Instructions
1. Pour milk into saucepan and set over medium heat. Whisk as milk heats (don’t let it boil!) until desired level of foam is produced. Pour over coffee and enjoy!

Pumpkin Whipped Cream

Ingredients

  1. 1/2 cup whipping cream
  2. 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  3. 3 tablespoons pumpkin puree
  4. 1/2 a graham cracker, crushed

Instructions

  1. Combine whipping cream and granulated sugar and beat (with hand mixer or in stand mixer) until soft peaks are reached.
  2. Add in pumpkin puree and continue beating until hard peaks are reached.
  3. Spoon generously onto coffee and add graham cracker crumbs!
10 thoughts on “(Easy As) Pumpkin Pie Latte

  1. I also tried this recipe this weekend. It was also delicious! Pumpkin whipped cream was a total revelation. My latte did not look nearly as pretty as yours (even though I tried and even put graham crackers on top) but it tasted awesome.

    I ended up experimenting with a second round later (decaf). I went for a kind of no-frills version (because I am generally a really lazy cook). I just eyeballed all the ingredients, though I used about 2/3 the amount of pumpkin and (gasp) equal instead of honey. Oh, and I also added some allspice! Different but still delicious. Thank you for the inspiration!

    • Oh my goodness, I was eating that pumpkin whipped cream straight from the mixer. I had to stop myself to take pictures for the blog. Embarrassing. And don’t worry, I made about three batches of that whipped cream before it looked decent atop my latte. Also, I’m so glad you tried out your own version! Very cool.

    • You are very welcome; I’m so glad you liked it! I’ll definitely try the maple syrup version sometime. Thanks for stopping by my blog, and let me know if you try any other recipes!

  2. I just found a post in Heather Scholten’s blog, talking about pumpkin latte, and I was going to try it. At the same time, I saw you post this one as well, it make me itchy to try it out. Maybe I will combine you two’s idea and make my version, what do you think?
    But thanks, anyway!

Leave a Reply

