The Best Meal I Ever Ate: Lau Fau Shan

Not surprisingly, I am a Food Network junkie. Recently, as I was watching Food Network stars talk about the single best thing they’ve ever eaten, I was, of course, thinking about my most spectacular eating experience. I usually avoid picking a favorite food. Given my rather indiscriminate passion for food – not to mention the amount I’ve consumed, even in the past month alone – it seems a rather impossible venture. However, in this case, my mind kept wandering to a place that my family has frequented for years: Lau Fau Shan.

By the way, as a most indecisive person, I’m reserving the right to add more “best” meals and otherwise change my mind. Just so that’s clear. Moving on…

Lau Fau Shan, literally translated as “Floating Mountain,” is located in the New Territories of Hong Kong. But really, the most important thing about Lau Fau Shan is that it houses some of the world’s most incredible seafood. 2 days ago, my family made the trek to Lau Fau Shan to celebrate my dad’s birthday (Happy Birthday, Daddy!!!). One of the unique experiences connected with Lau Fau Shan is choosing your very own fresh, live seafood. Don’t worry, it’ll get cooked later.

It’s alive! Although this picture doesn’t show it, the ocean is actually 100 feet to the right of this store. Yeah, this seafood is fresh.

20120707-011806.jpg

Clams just chillin’

20120707-011819.jpg

Old-school style: Using an abacus to calculate the cost! We’ve frequented this particular seafood seller as long as I’ve been visiting Lau Fau Shan, and this method has never changed.

20120707-011831.jpg

Choosing seafood is quite a process, including discussion with the shop owner about the quality of today’s catch as well as once-overs of all the options. Since my talents tend more towards eating rather than picking the seafood, I stay out of the process and let my uncle (our Lau Fau Shan expert) handle the negotiations.

After everything was said, done, and abacus-calculated, we headed to our favorite restaurant, just down the street. The majority of restaurants and seafood sellers here are located on the same street. If you don’t want to choose your own seafood (unheard of in our family), you can order it straight from the restaurant. Either way, you then decide exactly how you want the seafood cooked.

Warning: Graphic Really delicious seafood pictures to follow. If you detest seafood, I would recommend returning to a less controversial pastry-only post

Chinese White Shrimp – I know, I know, they’re actually pink! This is just a loose translation of the Chinese name. These shrimp are super sweet, fresh, and light, so they’re always eaten at the start of the meal. Traditionally, they’re dipped in a very light soy sauce.

20120707-011843.jpg

20120707-011852.jpg

Razor Clams in Black Bean Sauce – A meatier cousin of the more traditional quahog – oh man, this savory sauce is present in every single bite of the tasty clam

20120707-011903.jpg

Tiger Prawns Wok-Tossed with Soy Sauce:

20120707-012053.jpg

This dish is incredible. I know, I probably sound like I’m advertising for this restaurant, but seriously. The salt flavor from the soy sauce practically bursts from the steaming hot prawn.

Next, my absolute favorite dish – Scallops in the shell cooked with fresh minced garlic, covered in rice noodles with soy sauce.

20120707-012101.jpg

20120707-012116.jpg

The garlic heaped on the scallop brings such an incredible flavor to the sweet scallop, and the rice noodles add an extra textural and flavorful dimension. Yeah, I maybe sort of really like this dish. I also may or may not have eaten the single scallop left over after everyone ate their first one.

Fish tossed with vegetables – One of three dishes made from a single fish!

20120707-012126.jpg

Also, fish stew – Great flavor from the fish, plus some nice veggies!

20120707-012141.jpg

And…wok-fried fish – Slightly more savory than the other fish dishes, with a bit of a crust from the cooking method

20120707-012359.jpg

Then, dungeness crab with green onions and ginger – A bit difficult to eat, but totally worth it for that pure crab meat.

20120707-012407.jpg

Finally, salt & pepper soft-shell crab – Check out the two layers of shell!

20120707-012417.jpg

20120707-012427.jpg

Lau Fau Shan, you’ve outdone yourself.

4 thoughts on “The Best Meal I Ever Ate: Lau Fau Shan

  1. TIFFANY 🙂 I found you again! Haha. Sounds like you’re having an amazing time. Enjoy! Once again, I loooove your blog. I’ll make sure to keep your posts in mind when I go to Hong Kong later this month!

    ~Kay

Leave a Reply

