Homemade Potato Chips

I am a chip girl. I am such a chip girl it’s not even funny. Ranch Wavy Lays, Salt & Vinegar Kettle Chips, Cheetos Puffs (Do they count as chips? I don’t even care), and my absolute all-time favorite: Cheddar & Sour Cream Ruffles.

Oh, but, wait. Remember those Doritos 3D creations a few years back? Also the fact that the Doritos flavors used to be Cooler Ranch and Nacho Cheesier? Way more awesome than just Cool Ranch and Nacho Cheese. Clearly I know a little too much about chips.

Including the fact that it’s apparently bad to eat right out of the chip bag…something about portion control? Surprise, I’m not really too good at that.

So, in order to keep eating chips without feeling guilty (something I’m much better at than actually restraining myself), I went on the hunt for a healthier chip recipe.

As it turns out, you probably own the instant potato chip gratification tool: a microwave. Indeed, using only trace amounts of olive oil, you can actually microwave slim slices of potato into lovely crispy chips. And they’re healthy!

Okay, well, healthier than other fried chip options. Plus, you can season them however you want! In one batch of chips, you can have salt & vinegar, barbecue, AND sea salt and black pepper.

Or, if you’re like me, you can have all that, plus a bonus flavor: chicken chili thyme basil. Yeah, that’s what’s up (Major props to this site for the idea).

Seriously, though, today, you are the artist, and your blank canvas is a crispy potato chip. It doesn’t get much better than that.

Homemade Potato Chips (Adapted from from thekitchn and NicheTopics)

Yield: ~ 60 chips (Each potato yields about 30-35, depending on the width of each chip)

Notes: The thinner the potato slices, the crispier they’ll get. You can use either a mandolin slicer to cut the potatoes, or slice them thinly yourself with a knife. Although most websites I visited recommended using a mandolin slicer, I was actually able to cut thinner slices by myself (after I sliced open my thumb on the mandolin slicer – please be careful!).

All of the seasonings will follow the general instructions, except for the salt and vinegar version. If you’re making salt and vinegar chips (good choice!), be sure to soak the slices in vinegar for at least half and hour prior to microwaving.

Also, the measurements below are a good general guide, but your taste preferences may differ from mine. So, experiment! And let me know how it goes =)

Chip Ingredients

  1. 2 potatoes, sliced paper thin (with or without peel)
  2. 1 tablespoon olive oil

Instructions

  1. Wash potato and scrub clean.
  2. Cut into thin slices (try for less than 1/8 inch thick) and soak in cold water for approximately 5 minutes. Rinse off and dry.
  3. Brush slices with olive oil and season. (Note: If using sea salt & vinegar seasonings, soak in vinegar for 30 minutes before brushing on olive oil, then season with salt.) Lay slices down without any overlap on a paper towel or parchment paper on top of a microwave safe plate.
  4. Microwave for 3 minutes, then flip slices over (careful – they’ll be hot!) and microwave for another 2 minutes. As slices crisp, remove them from the plate. Continue microwaving in 1 minute intervals, flipping slices at each interval, until all chips are golden and crispy. Let cool, then enjoy!

Seasonings

Sea Salt & Black Pepper

Ingredients

  1. 1 1/2 teaspoons sea salt
  2. 1 1/2 teaspoons black pepper

Salt & Vinegar (Remember to soak in vinegar for half an hour!)

Ingredients

  1. 2 cups white vinegar
  2. 1 1/2 teaspoons sea salt

Chicken Chili Thyme Basil

Ingredients

  1. 3 chicken bouillon cubes, crushed
  2. 1 1/2 teaspoons dried basil leaves
  3. 1 teaspoon thyme
  4. 1/2 teaspoon chili powder

Barbecue

Ingredients

  1. 2 teaspoons paprika
  2. 1 teaspoon sugar
  3. 1/2 teaspoon season-all
  4. 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  5. 1/2 teaspoon ground mustard
  6. Pinch cayenne pepper
5 thoughts on “Homemade Potato Chips

  1. Hey Tiffany! I know I was said I was going to make the pumpkin pie latte (I still am! in a few minutes) but I decided to make these first! Oh man, they are so good. I was hankering for some kind of chip yesterday to eat while I was watching a movie, so this recipe was like serendipity. I made sea salt and cracked pepper and they are delicious. Thanks for the recipe!!

    • There’s a guard?? Clearly, I am not well versed in my mandolin slicer. Thanks for the heads up! I’ll definitely be more prepared next time.

Leave a Reply

