Owl Funfetti Cookies

Unlike many high school students (I’m looking at you, Rory Gilmore*), I didn’t really have a hard time deciding where to go to college. I fell in love with Rice University not, surprisingly, on my own college visits, but actually on my older sister’s first visit to the campus. So, even before I entered high school, I knew where I would be applying.

* Who, by the way, totally gives girls false hope that they will somehow be accepted to all of the Ivies if they spend all of their time 1) Drinking coffee in the local diner, 2) Wittily bantering with their mom, and 3) Breaking the hearts of beautiful boys.

What I couldn’t have predicted, however, is that my experience at Rice would absolutely blow away any expectations I had. I made some of the best friends I’ve ever had in my life during those four amazing years. And, can we talk about Beer Bike? Baker 13? O-WEEK?!?! (Also that Wiess is the best college. TFW!).


But anyway. This weekend, Rice is celebrating 100 years of being a total badass in a rockin’ Centennial Shindig. So, in honor of this incredible institution (and because I needed to bring some treats along on my visit), I made these owl cookies!


I will be completely upfront here and let you in on a little secret: They’re made with tulip cookie cutters! Indeed, if you look close enough, these adorable wise birds might actually resemble a flower. With sprinkles. And glaze.


Happy Centennial, Rice! I’ll see you soon!

Owl Funfetti Cookies (Adapted from two peas & their pod)

Yield: About 3 dozen cookies

Owl Cookie

Ingredients

  1. 3 cups all-purpose flour
  2. 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  3. 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  4. 1/4 teaspoon salt
  5. 1 stick unsalted butter, softened
  6. 1 cup sugar
  7. 2 eggs
  8. 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  9. 3/4 cup greek yogurt
  10. 1/2 cup sprinkles

Instructions

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
  2. In a separate bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in eggs and beat. Then, beat vanilla and greek yogurt at low speed until combined.
  3. Add dry ingredients and beat until just combined, then stir in sprinkles.
  4. Remove dough and shape into a rectangle, then flatten until about 1 1/2 inches thick. Wrap flattened rectangle with plastic wrap. Chill in refrigerator overnight or for at least 2 hours.
  5. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Roll out dough on floured surface until about 1/4 inch thick. For owl shape, cut dough using a tulip (or similar shaped) cookie cutter.
  6. Bake on parchment paper-lined sheets for about 8 minutes.

Easy Owl Glaze

Ingredients

  1. 2 cups powdered sugar
  2. 2 tablespoons milk
  3. Orange and Black Food Coloring (The amount needed depends on the type of food coloring you use. With my Ateco food coloring gels, I used one drop of orange, and two of black).

Instructions

  1. Mix sugar and milk until sugar is completely dissolved.
  2. Set aside 2/3 of the glaze for whites of the owl eyes. Leave this uncolored.
  3. Divide the remaining 1/3 of the glaze in half, then color one orange, and the other glaze (1/6 total) black.
  4. Spoon the three different colored glazes into three different pastry bags. Pipe two white circles out for the eyes. As the white glaze is drying, pipe the triangular orange beak onto the middle of the owl. Finally, dot each owl eye with the black glaze for pupils!
2 thoughts on “Owl Funfetti Cookies

  1. Thanks! The engineering department where I work is mostly Mississippi State Bulldogs (except for me.) These are just what I need for Liberty Bowl 2013.

Leave a Reply

