Cranberry-Ginger White Wine Cocktails

Today, I learned a very important lesson about making cocktails for a blog: You end up with a lot of cocktails. Delicious cocktails. In the middle of the day (not on purpose, that’s when the light is best!). But I suppose there are worse predicaments in life.

Especially when the cocktail in question contains ginger simple syrup! Though ginger and I have not always been the best of friends (chunks of ginger tend to hide in Cantonese cuisine ughhh), I recently became obsessed with ginger flavor in cocktails. It all started when I tried a sip of my friend’s cocktail at the Bar Belmont. It was so good that I almost stole the rest of his drink. The secret behind the delicious? GINGER BEER.

Ever since that night, I haven’t let up on my ginger cocktail rampage. I’ve tried moscow mules, ginger beer with bourbon, and I thought it was time to finally make my own. In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I decided to add cranberries for a festive, tasty touch (and some color)!

Thus, my first cocktail creation has been born: Cranberry-ginger simple syrup, cold refreshing ginger ale, and chilled white wine. Ooh, plus some cranberries for garnish. Not that I’m biased or anything, but I think it’s pretty darn delicious, and perfect for the holidays!

Speaking of which, in honor of Thanksgiving week (My favorite holiday!!!! None too surprising, as it’s ALL ABOUT FOOD), I will be posting four times this week – every day up to, and including Thanksgiving! Woohoo!

Cranberry-Ginger White Wine Cocktails

Yield: 8 servings

Ingredients

  1. 1 cup fresh or frozen cranberries
  2. 1-inch chunk of fresh ginger, peeled and thinly sliced
  3. 1/2 cup sugar
  4. 1/2 cup water
  5. 1 bottle white wine, chilled
  6. 1 2-liter bottle of ginger ale, chilled

Instructions

  1. Make cranberry-ginger simple syrup: Bring sugar and water to a boil in a saucepan, then stir to dissolve sugar. Add ginger and cranberry, and reduce heat to a simmer for about 5 minutes, or until all the cranberries burst. Remove from heat, let steep 30 minutes, and strain syrup through a sieve. Chill in refrigerator at least 30 minutes.
  2. For each cocktail, pour 1 tablespoon of cranberry-ginger simple syrup into a glass. Then, pour in 4 oz each of white wine and ginger ale.
4 thoughts on “Cranberry-Ginger White Wine Cocktails

Leave a Reply

