Cinnamon Crunch Cookies

207

There is a mythical, magical place called Panera, home to flaky chocolate croissants, steaming hot, rich bread bowls of clam chowder, and the most amazing bagels in the world: Cinnamon Crunch Bagels.

208

What is a Cinnamon Crunch Bagel? I’m almost inclined to say that this deliciousness cannot be so easily defined. But, I suppose I would describe it as bagel with crunchy cinnamon topping, hidden pockets of sweet cinnamon goodness, and a perfect melding with cream cheese. Yeah, I’ve eaten a lot of these bagels.

209

Since leaving Kansas, though (with a Panera 5 minutes away from my high school!), I’ve barely glimpsed, let alone eaten at a Panera. So when I learned of a Panera close to my Dallas abode, I raced there in a tizzy. Okay, actually, that is a complete exaggeration. I went last night for dinner, which was a terrible mistake….because I felt the need to eat dinner food, aka NOT bagels.

210

Upon returning home, I realized my stupidity, and felt the Cinnamon Crunch Craving (commonly known as the CCC) quickly fall upon me. Thus, I decided to whip up a batch in cookie form. After much deliberation, I came up with a cookie filled with cinnamon sugar (sort of like an inside-out Snickerdoodle), then brushed with a topping of white sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, and melted butter.

211

The result? A soft cookie bursting with a delicious pocket of cinnamon sugar and a topping for the ages. Good enough to stop my CCCs until this weekend in their tracks.

212

Cinnamon Crunch Cookies (Adapted from food.com)

Yield: About 24 cookies

Notes: I used Greek yogurt as a substitute for half of the butter, and noticed no difference in taste. However, if you don’t wish to substitute, then you can simply use 2 sticks of buter.

Ingredients

Cookies

  1. 1 stick butter
  2. 1/2 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  3. 1 ½ cups sugar
  4. 2 large eggs
  5.  2 ¾ cups flour
  6. 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  7. 1 teaspoon baking soda
  8. ¼ teaspoon salt
  9. 3 tablespoons sugar
  10. 3 teaspoons cinnamon

Topping

  1. ½ cup granulated sugar
  2. ½ cup brown sugar
  3. ¼ cup melted butter
  4. 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F. In a large bowl, combine flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  2. Cream together butter and sugar. Then, mix in Greek yogurt and eggs. Add dry ingredients to the butter mixture and mix until just combined.
  3. Chill dough for about 15 minutes. Meanwhile, combine the 3 tablespoons sugar and cinnamon. In a separate bowl, combine the white sugar, brown sugar, melted butter, and cinnamon required for the topping.
  4. After 15 minutes, scoop out 1 inch balls of cookie dough. Make a well in the middle with your finger, then fill with cinnamon sugar. Fold the top in and roll so the dough is round, with the cinnamon sugar mixture is in the middle.
  5. Place dough 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Brush the mixture of sugar, butter, and cinnamon on top of each cookie. Bake for about 12 minutes, then let cool before eating.
6 thoughts on “Cinnamon Crunch Cookies

    • Haha really? That’s awesome! Not sure if I can compete with your grandmother’s cookies, but you should definitely give these a spin!

Leave a Reply

