Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Muffins

330

Guys, I have really exciting news!!! This is huge. I mean, big time. Yeah, that’s right, the Playstation 4 was announced yesterday. Bring on the Killzone Shadow Fall.

331

Okay, sorry, I can’t even pretend. I just had to look up “Playstation 4 games” to find out the name of some popular games of this generation. I mean, my last game console was actually the original gray Playstation. I can’t even remember the name of my favorite game (It’s the one where you shoot the spaceships that line up and dive down at you. . . any ideas?).

332

But anyway, here’s the actual exciting news: My recipe was published in Cake Central Magazine this month! I contributed an article (quite similar to a blog post, actually) with a recipe and photos of a Strawberry Chantilly Cake inspired by my childhood. If you’re interested, you can check it out here (it’s the “strawberry sweetheart” mentioned on the front cover)!

333

Moving onto today’s treat: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Muffins. Mmm. Murgralhawerk (sorry, can’t talk, eating a muffin). I love banana bread, but it’s not something that I find myself making very often. That is, until the lovely folks at Chobani sent me over a few containers of their new blended Greek yogurts!

334

One of those flavors just happened to be Vanilla Chocolate Chunk yogurt, which oh yeah, contains real chunks of chocolate! I realized that this yogurt could serve two purposes in my banana bread: Replace oil/butter and add in some deelish chocolate. Genius, eh? (Although I also added in some chocolate chips of my own because, well, I have no self control).

335

My sister gave these rave reviews, telling me that these muffins are the “best things you’ve made in a while.” Although, is that really a compliment? Or, is it what someone might term a “complisult?” Either way, I would say that these muffins are pretty darn good. Happy Friday!

I think that your Friday should include both of these magical things.

I think that your Friday should include both of these magical things.

 

I suppose it’s customary to put something called a disclaimer here? Okay, here goes: My views on the genius of putting chocolate in breakfast food are expressly my own. I was not paid by Chobani to endorse their product. They did, however, send me some Greek yogurt samples, which I think is very nice.

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Muffins

Yield: Approximately 12 muffins

Ingredients

1) 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

2) ¾ cups sugar

3) ¼ teaspoon salt

4) 1 teaspoon baking soda

5) ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

6) 3 large overripe bananas, mashed

7) 1/3 cup Greek yogurt (I used Chobani’s Vanilla-Chocolate Chunk yogurt)

8) 1 egg

9) 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Instructions

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a 12-muffin pan or grease thoroughly. In a medium-sized mixing bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon.

2) In a separate, larger mixing bowl, mix together mashed bananas, Greek yogurt, and egg until thoroughly combined.

3) Stir in dry mixture a little at a time to the banana mixture until just combined. Finally, stir in chocolate chips. Bake in preheated oven for approximately 20 minutes, or until inserted toothpick comes out clean. Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Muffins

  1. I just made these this morning! They are fabulous! I got a little confused in the beginning because I used my biggest bowl for the flour, sugar, etc… then I had no room in my smaller mixing bowl with the bananas to add the dry ingredients. x] Also, no free samples from Chobani for me so I used plain yogurt. These muffins are super awesome!

    • Aww you’re the most adorbs. I just updated the mixing bowl sizes on the recipe to avoid confusion. 🙂 I’m so happy that you tried them out!

      • Yay! Thanks! I think it’s a confusion made only by amateurs like me. :p I am sorry to say it’s been 2 days and they have all disappeared… Somewhere… Deep in my belly…

  2. Could not find chocolate favor soooo I used black cherry and coated my chips in a little flour,need less to say these muffins areWonderful, thanks for the idea.one love

  3. Thanks for a great recipe! I would have used the greek yogurt..but my son wanted to take it for lunch, so I experimented with the ricotta cheese I needed to use up. It worked fine as a substitute!

Leave a Reply

